س 20: السمية الأذنية وعلم السمع - رؤى من مبتكر

من مكتب جوس مولر

عوامل السمية والأذن. الموضوعات ذات الصلة التي ربما لا يتم طرحها كثيرًا على أخصائي السمع العادي ، ولكن عندما يحدث ذلك ، فأنت بالتأكيد تريد مصدرًا جيدًا للمعلومات الموثوقة. اعتقدنا أنه يمكننا مساعدتك هنا في 20Q. بالطبع ، احتاج رجل الأسئلة إلى خبير في هذا الموضوع ، وكان هذا هو الجزء السهل - اخترنا نفس الشخص الذي كنت ستختارونه جميعًا أيضًا: الدكتورة كاثلين كامبل من جامعة جنوب إلينوي. نظرًا لأن الدكتورة كامبل كرست حياتها المهنية لهذا الجانب الفريد من علم السمع وعلم السمع ، فقد طلبنا منها أيضًا أن تعطينا خلفية صغيرة عن المسار الذي سلكته.

كاثلين كامبل ، دكتوراه ، هي باحثة متميزة وأستاذة أبحاث في كلية الطب بجامعة جنوب إلينوي (SIU) ، قسم الأحياء الدقيقة الطبية والمناعة وبيولوجيا الخلية. مساهماتها البحثية على مر السنين مثالية. تلقت أكثر من 60 منحة من المعاهد الوطنية للصحة ووزارة الدفاع الأمريكية ووكالات أخرى لأبحاثها حول عوامل حماية الأذن. وهي المخترع الوحيد لبراءات اختراع عامل الحماية D-methionine ، وحصلت على 5 براءات اختراع أمريكية و 33 أجنبية لاختراعاتها لعوامل حماية الأذن الدوائية. هي مؤلفة علم الأدوية والسمية الأذنية لأخصائيي السمع.

الدكتور كامبل هو زميل ASHA وحصل على مرتبة الشرف من هذه الجمعية. كما حصلت أيضًا على مرتبة الشرف من أكاديمية إلينوي لعلم السمع وحصلت على جائزة مخترع العام لنظام جامعة إلينوي. عملت في مجلس إدارة الأكاديمية الأمريكية لعلم السمع وحصلت على شهادة AAA الرئاسية.

تعود إحدى الجوائز غير المدرجة أعلاه إلى عام 1969 عندما توجت الدكتورة كامبل مسقط رأسها بيتي كروكر كأفضل صانع منزلي لهذا العام. في العقود التي تلت ذلك ، من الواضح أنها مزجت مهارة الطفولة هذه بمعرفتها العلمية المتزايدة باستمرار ، والتي أدت بلا شك إلى وصفتها الحائزة على جوائز "عصير حماية الأذن الدوائية، "والتي يمكن العثور عليها في كتاب الطبخ سيئ السمعة كيف تأكل مثل أخصائي السمع.

قبل خمسة عشر عامًا أو نحو ذلك ، كتبت كاثي مقالًا يضم 20 سؤالًا لي ، وبعد الانتهاء من كل الأشياء العلمية ، اعتقدنا أننا سنضيف سؤالًا إضافيًا. ذهب الأمر على النحو التالي: هل صحيح أن علماء السمع الذين يدرسون العلوم الأساسية ليسوا ممتعين على الإطلاق؟ ردها: هراء. على سبيل المثال ، نود أن نتحدث عن الجزيئين اللذين يسيران في الشارع. يقول أحد الجزيئات للآخر ، "لقد فقدت للتو إلكترونًا" ويسأل الآخر ، "هل أنت متأكد؟" والردود الأولى "أنا إيجابي!"

أنا متأكد أيضًا من أنك ستستمتع بالمعلومات التي توفرها كاثي في ​​مقالها الممتاز 20Q.

جوس مولر ، دكتوراه
المساهمة في تحرير

اترك تعليق

X

20Q: Ototoxicity and Audiology – Insights from an Innovator

From the Desk of Gus Mueller

Ototoxicity and otoprotective agents. Related topics that probably don’t come up too often for the average audiologist, but when they do, you certainly want a good source for reliable information. We thought that we could help you out here at 20Q. Of course, our Question Man needed an expert on the topic, and that was the easy part—we selected the same person that you all would have picked too: Dr. Kathleen Campbell of Southern Illinois University.  Because Dr. Campbell has devoted her career to this unique aspect of audiology and hearing science, we also asked her to give us a little background regarding the path she has taken.

Kathleen Campbell, Ph.D., is Distinguished Scholar and Research Professor at Southern Illinois University (SIU) School of Medicine, Department of Medical Microbiology, Immunology and Cell Biology. Her research contributions over the years are exemplary. She has received over 60 grants from National Institutes of Health, US Department of Defense and other agencies for her research on otoprotective agents. She is the sole inventor for the protective agent D-methionine patents, and has received 5 US and 33 foreign patents for her inventions for pharmacologic otoprotective agents. She is the author of Pharmacology and Ototoxicity for Audiologists.

Dr. Campbell is a Fellow of the ASHA and has received the Honors of this Association. She also has received the Honors of the Illinois Academy of Audiology and was named the Inventor of the Year for the Illinois University System. She has served on the American Academy of Audiology Board of Directors and has received the AAA Presidential Citation.

One award not listed above dates back to 1969 when Dr. Campbell was crowned her hometown Betty Crocker Homemaker of the Year. In the decades that have followed, she clearly has blended this childhood skill with her ever-increasing scientific knowledge, which no doubt led to her award-winning recipe “Pharmacologic Otoprotection Smoothie,” which can be found in the infamous cookbook How To Eat Like an Audiologist.

Fifteen years ago or so, Kathy wrote a 20 Questions article for me, and after all the scientific stuff was finished, we thought we’d add a Bonus Question. It went like this: Is it true that audiologists who study basic science aren’t any fun at all? Her response: Nonsense. For example, we like to tell about the two molecules walking down the street. One molecule says to the other, “I just lost an electron” The other asks, “Are you sure?” and the first replies, “I’m positive!”

I’m also positive that you’ll enjoy the information that Kathy provides in her excellent 20Q article.

Gus Mueller, PhD
Contributing Editor

Leave a Reply
Free Worldwide shipping

On all orders above $50

Easy 30 days returns

30 days money back guarantee

International Warranty

Offered in the country of usage

100% Secure Checkout

PayPal / MasterCard / Visa

X